30 thoughts at 30, pt. 2

I suppose I have been running for most of my life.  I think I started running not long after I started walking.  As I grew older, I began to play sports, which involve running.  I loved football the most, but I’m not very big.  In seventh grade, I went out for the track team, and I made it.  Of course by the  nature of our team, everyone made it.  I ran sprints because a mile was too long.  I was towards the back of the pack when we ran, but I loved it.  I finally got to travel to my first away meet towards the end of that year, and I was hooked.  In tenth grade, I quit football to run cross-country because that was where my friend were.  That is when I began running longer distances such as three, four, and five miles.  Lo and behold, my team one the state championship my first year, and I was hooked once more.  After high school, I didn’t run as much until a friend of mine told me about a friend who needed a running partner.  She happened to be really cute and fun.  Once again I was running again, and loving it for the time we spent together.  One morning on a run, I proposed and she laughed hysterically.  Eventually she said yes and we got married.  After we got married, I found a couple of other friends that wanted to run and we ran our first race a few months later.  Then we moved to New Orleans.  Throughout the past few years, I have tried to run consistently.  Finally something clicked, and last May I decided I would begin running.  I still don’t know exactly why it happened, but it happened this time.  I ran all summer and the Mrs. joined me.  In August we began training for our first half marathon.  In October we finished it.  I was hooked once again.  I love running.  I want others to love it as much as I do.  I am thankful to Jesus that he has given me the ability.  I want to run to please him.  Here are some thoughts on running…

  1. Running is a good friend I hope to keep for a lifetime.  The Mrs. and I often  go run at Audubon Park on Saturdays.  I love seeing the old men running.  You know the ones.  They are barely moving, knees barely bending but moving.  I always say that is my goal.  I want to be one of those guys one day.  I want to run for a lifetime.
  2. Running has brought many special moments in my life.  As previously mentioned, I have had some great running experiences in my life.  I cherish the friendships I made while running in high school and after.
  3. Running is simple.  You just go out the door and move faster than a walk.  One reason I love running so much is that anyone can do it.  You don’t need fancy, expensive shoes or technical gear, though I always encourage new runners to get fitted for shoes.  Running itself does not cost money.
  4. Running is complex.  I am learning more and more about running, and some of those fancy, expensive shoes do some neat things.  There is a ridiculous amount of gear that one can use now.  There are books and coaches that will teach you proper form.  There is the debate over how much should one stretch.  Is minimal or barefoot running better than traditional running shoes?  Some say yes, some say not really.  I say all this because, as complicated as it can seem, running is still putting one foot in front of the other.  The runner that has all the technical gear is no more of a runner than a new runner that knows nothing about the gear or technicalities.
  5. The encouragement from races is hard to duplicate.  I had heard people talk about all the encouragement from running big races.  When I ran the half marathon, I became emotional several times.  It was overwhelming that all of these people were out to accomplish this goal of crossing the finish line.  The first place person and the last place person were going for the same thing.  There is just a unity that brings these runners together.  Numerous obstacles were overcome by so many runners.  I wish I knew how to duplicate that atmosphere in other places.
  6. I want people to love running.  I said this before, but I do want people to love running.  I know not everyone will love it like I do, but I appreciate how it has shaped my life.  I want to be an encourager to new runners, and I want them to see how it can change their life.  I love running with new runners so that I can tell them about how good running has been for me.

There are other things I would like to say, but that would not be fair to my other lists now would it?  Maybe I will do a follow up on things I have learned from running one day. Ooh that is a good idea!  Look for that coming soon.

Now I want to go for a run.  See you outside.

Tomorrow we shift gears once again and I will talk about family, and what it means to me.

What are your thoughts on running?

Any fun memories or exciting moments?

Leave a Reply

